About Gloriana

Gloriana is one of Melbourne’s finest chamber choirs and our repertoire includes both early and contemporary music, sacred and secular. Gloriana formed in 1994, initially as a sixteen-piece ensemble. Now our membership consists of over thirty voices.

We have developed a progressive focus on contemporary classic music by both Australian and international composers. It’s also been our privilege to present the Melbourne—and Australian premieres—of many contemporary works.

We are most often an a cappella choir, but increasingly our concerts feature instrumental ensembles and chamber orchestras. We have been proud to work with some of the best players in Australia.

We’ve regularly performed in festivals such as the Organs of the Ballarat Goldfields and the Hamilton Promenade of Sacred Music and Gloriana can often be heard on 3MBS FM and ABC Classic FM.

Some of Gloriana’s highlights include:

  • Mass in B Minor and St. John Passion of J.S. Bach
  • Spem in Alium of Thomas Tallis
  • All-Night Vigil of Rachmaninoff
  • Figure Humaine of Francis Poulenc
  • Choir Concerto of Alfred Schnitke.

Current choir members


  • Katherine Healy
  • Danielle Venning
  • Kate Gondwana
  • Sue Skillington
  • Sharon Mulready
  • Sarah Harris


  • Louisa Billeter
  • Hilary Harrison-Smith
  • Gloria Gamboz
  • Christopher Mason
  • Katie Richardson
  • Alice Robinson


  • Frank Prain
  • Shingo Gibson-Suzuki
  • Ashleigh Sier
  • Robert Clayton
  • Andrew Fisher
  • Tim Danks
  • Brian Leaver


  • Karl Billeter
  • Neil Jenkins
  • Roger Venning
  • Will Evans
  • René Spoors
  • Daniel Mitterdorfer
  • Damian Verdnik
  • David Durance
  • David Woodgate

Join us

We are always looking for music lovers who are keen for a challenge and have reasonable sight-reading ability.

Contact the music director Andrew Raiskums for more information.

%d bloggers like this: