Our 2018 season


Gloriana’s 2018 season features some of the most treasured works from the choir’s repertoire, alongside new works by contemporary composers.

Our concerts take place at Sacred Heart Church in Carlton, at the corner of Pelham and Rathdowne Sts.

Ticket prices and how to pay for them

Adult tickets are $35.00 but ticket prices for orchestral concerts can be more. We sell $15.00 rush tickets for tertiary students only. 

You can buy tickets online or by cash/EFTPOS on the day of the concert.

We also accept cheques. Please make cheques payable to Beautiful Noises Pty Ltd and post your cheque with a note stating your name and contact number to: 18 Yanigin Drive, Glen Waverley, 3150.

Duruflé Requiem. Sunday, 23 September

Maurice Duruflé (1902-1986): Requiem Op. 9

Francis Poulenc (1899-1963): Figure Humaine

Gabriel Fauré (1845-1924): Messe Basse, transcription for a cappella choir by Andrew Raiskums

Olivier Messiaen (1908-1992): O sacrum convivium

This concert brings together two of the most imposing choral works from twentieth-century France: Maurice Duruflé’s sublime Requiem and Francis Poulenc’s searing Figure Humaine.

Clearly referring to Fauré’s example, Duruflé chose to set exactly the same texts that Fauré used in his Requiem. Durufle’s Requiem is a tour-de-force; from the use of Gregorian chants to generate almost all the thematic material in the work to the ease with which Duruflé builds beguiling textures around these chants, and the virtuosity of the organ part.

Figure Humaine is one of Poulenc’s greatest works: a cantata for two six-part choirs, written during the Nazi occupation of France. Using a selection of poems by Paul Eluard, including the celebrated ‘Liberté’, Figure Humaine expresses ‘the suffering of the people of France’ and the ‘hope of the final triumph over tyranny’. This programme also features Fauré’s Messe Basse, in a transcription for a cappella choir and Messiaen’s spellbinding O sacrum Convivium.

American Classics. Sunday, 18 November

Aaron Copland (1900-1990): In the Beginning

Samuel Barber (1910-1981): Agnus Dei

Morten Lauridsen (b.1943): Soneto de la Noche & Ave, dulcissima Maria

Eric Whitacre (b.1970): Sainte-Chapelle & i thank You God for most this amazing day

René Clausen (b.1953): Tonight eternity alone

Stephen Paulus (1949-2014): Pilgrims’ Hymn

Sir Michael Tippett (1905-1998): Five Negro Spirituals from A Child of Our Time

Aaron Copland’s extraordinary In the Beginning sets thirty-eight verses from the Book of Genesis. Using subtle musical devices and clear text painting, Copland brilliantly depicts the actions in the Creation story, building to a spectacular close.

Barber’s Agnus Dei is a reworking for a cappella choir of his much-loved Adagio for Strings. Morten Lauridsen’s Soneto de la Noche is a setting of one of Pablo Neruda’s most transcendent poems; Ave dulcissima Maria is a beguiling work scored for seven-part men’s voices.

Eric Whitacre’s distinctive harmonic language dazzles us in and i thank You God for most this amazing day –a setting of words by E.E. Cummings.

Sir Michael Tippett’s oratorio A Child of Our Time is the source of his Five Negro Spirituals, which were subsequently arranged for a cappella choir. Exquisite miniatures by René Clausen and Stephen Paulus also adorn this programme.