Our 2019 season

Gloriana’s 2019 season features some of the most treasured works from the choir’s repertoire, alongside new works by contemporary composers.

Our concerts take place at Sacred Heart Church in Carlton, at the corner of Pelham and Rathdowne Sts.

Ticket prices and how to pay for them

Adult tickets are $40.00 We sell $15.00 rush tickets for tertiary students only. You can buy tickets online or by cash/EFTPOS on the day of the concert.

We also accept cheques. Please make cheques payable to Beautiful Noises Pty Ltd and post your cheque with a note stating your name and contact number to: 18 Yanigin Drive, Glen Waverley, 3150.

Please note, tickets are non-refundable.

Concert 3


2:30pm Sunday 22 September, Sacred Heart Carlton

Monteverdi’s Missa in illo tempore was first published alongside the celebrated 1610 Vespers. In its style, the Vespers is very much of the moment, whereas the Missa in illo tempore looks back to the great parody masses of the sixteenth century. Like the Vespers, the Missa in illo tempore is also conceived on a grand scale, and enthralls with its glorious tracts of sound. Henry Purcell’s anthems offer a very different experience: small in scale but potent in their musical gestures. Olivier Messiaen’s Cinq Rechants, loosely based on the Tristan and Isolde legend, is a garden of sensuous and virtuosic writing for 12 soloists. Virtuosity is also a prominent feature of Bach’s Singet dem Herrn ein neues Lied—a work which is no less than a dazzling three-movement concerto for double chorus and one of Bach’s most exalted pieces of choral writing.

Claudio Monteverdi (1567—1643): Missa in illo tempore
Henry Purcell (1659—1695): Three anthems: Lord, how long wilt though be angry?/Remember not, Lord, our offences/I was glad
Olivier Messiaen (1908—1992): Cinq Rechants
J.S. Bach (1685—1750): Singet dem Herrn ein neues Lied BWV 225

Concert 4


2:30pm Sunday 1 December, Sacred Heart Carlton

Magnificent music to welcome in the Christmas season. Beginning with gems by Praetorius, Mouton and Josquin, the main work in this program is Benjamin Britten’s beguiling A Ceremony of Carols, scored for women’s voices and harp – memorably described by the composer’s partner Peter Pears as being ‘very sweet and chockfull of charm’. Poulenc’s Quatre motets pour le temps de Noël delight us with their concision and clarity – from the infinite tenderness of O magnum mysterium to the almost breathless excitement of Hodie Christus natus est. Giles Swayne galvanises the text of the Magnificat by bringing in nothing less than a zulu warrior chant. Sir John Tavener’s Mother and Child builds to a thunderous and awe-inspiring climax before returning to the prayerful, contemplative textures with which it also began. Music also by Herbert Howells and Jan Sandström.

Michael Praetorius (1571—1621): In dulci jubilo à 2, 3 & 4
Jean Mouton (c.1459—1522): Nesciens Mater
Josquin Desprez (c.1450—1521): Præter rerum seriem
Benjamin Britten (1913—1976): A Ceremony of Carols
Francis Poulenc (1899—1963): Quatre motets pour le temps de Noël
Giles Swayne (b.1946): Magnificat
Herbert Howells (1892—1983): Three Carol-Anthems: A Spotless Rose/Sing lullaby/Here is the little door)
Jan Sandström (b.1954): Es ist ein Ros’ entsprungen
Sir John Tavener (1944—2013): Mother and Child