Back to All Events

Brahms: German Requeim

  • Sacred Heart Church Cnr of Pelham and Rathdowne Sts Carlton Australia (map)

Andrea Katz, Dean Sky-Lucas: pianos
Erika Tandiono, soprano
Nicholas Dinopoulos, bass-baritone
Directed by Andrew Raiskums

JS Bach (1685-1750) Jesu, meine Freude BWV 227
Johannes Brahms (1833-1897) Ein Deutsches Requiem Op. 45

From its first performance Brahms’ Ein Deutsches Requiem was immediately recognised as a masterpiece of exceptional vision, confirming Brahms’ reputation as a composer of international stature. Brahms drew his texts from the Lutheran Bible – texts that emphasise faith in the Resurrection and comfort to the living.

The work’s seven movements are arranged in a palindrome around the celebrated central fourth movement - Wie lieblich sind seine Wohnungen - which marks a shift from the solemnity of the first three movements to the certainty of comfort in the last three. Ein Deutsches Requiem is performed here in a version created by Brahms featuring a two-piano accompaniment.

Bach exerted a profound influence on Brahms and his motet Jesu, meine Freude uses the same palindromic structure to unify its strongly-characterised musical ideas.

For this performance we are thrilled to be joined by Andrea Katz and Dean Sky-Lucas as our duo pianists, alongside soprano soloist Erika Tandiono and bass-baritone soloist Nicholas Dinopoulos.

Don't miss this chance to hear two of the greatest choral works ever written.

Later Event: 24 June
Heavenly Harmonies